G-EAZY BLOG! Thinking Outside the Box to get to the Center

3 07 2008

This last year has been crazy for me as an artist, I’ve come from burning and selling my own CDs working solo dolo as a kid in the bay with big dreams to headlining shows and having more people supporting and working for me than ever before. However, even with all the blessings, there’s still a line that has yet to be crossed, and that’s the line that separates the good from great. I’ve been told a thousand times though, that in order to do that you gotta find a way to distinguish yourself as an artist. In this day n age of music, every other kid you come across got a microphone and a computer and loves to make “music”. You would think that with the music being that much more accessible, you would hear that much more variation in the music being made, because of that many more heads being given the chance to put out their ideas through rap.

However it seems like the opposite, the more people there are rapping and making beats now, the more they all sound the same. It’s frustrating as an artist because this problem makes it that much harder to be noticed, and for somebody hearing you for the first time, they’re less likely to even give you a chance. It feels like standing in a damn where’s waldo puzzle sometimes I swear. I know this shit is true too, based on personal first hand experience… my myspace account gets blown up everyday with messages from other “artists” asking me if I’d be down to do a collab with them, and to be honest i give maybe 25% of them the time of day to even check out their music (Skandeles i know but its a lotta lame cats out there!). And of those 25% i give the chance to, i’m rarely moved or impressed by their shit.

However, a couple weeks ago, I was shocked! This cat hit me up, and he told me he liked my shit and to check out his band called Bedtime For Toys (http://myspace.com/bedtimefortoys). At first what caught my attention is the word ‘band’ so i’m like, ‘arright lemme check out their music, see what they sound like’… It woke me up the shit was fresh as fuck. I played their song “Cold Fever” on repeat for the rest of the day. I like to listen to all types of music, but i’m not too big on a lot of modern rock, but they had a unique sound that really impressed me. They had a unique balance between hip-hop and punk rock, but with an old-school late 80s vibe to both aspects. You already know I’m on that hype, so needless to say i liked their shit. I ended up getting to know their drummer, and he gave me green lights to do a remix, so i hopped on the song and spit a verse as soon as i got the beat cuz I was so inspired.

Meeting these cats kinda felt like the movie I Am Legend, how Will Smith felt when he met those other people that saved him. Sometimes i feel like this music shit is like that, just dead, and it’s rare you find life out there! But these cats shit is definitely live, big ups to Bedtime For Toys. You can catch the Cold Fever Remix on my new mixtape The Tipping Point coming in a couple weeks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

