The Reason Why I Love Freedom School! SHIFT LOVE THE KIDS!

24 06 2008

 

When I took my current job at Freedom School, I was solely doing it for the check.  They told me $440 a week and all expense paid trip to Tennessee and I was hooked.  I thought it was going to be in and out and get paid you know?  I had an apartment coming up and I needed all the money I can get.  But, after I went to National training in Tennessee and they told me what the program was about I got so into it.  And, when my first day hit I was soooooo nervous but still didn’t know what to expect.  But, when I began to interact with my kids, I was so at home.  I love deez kids!  All of them are like my little brothers and sisters.  Of course they piss me off from time to time but I find it so compelling to be a role model in their lives.  I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my summer.  They really are the only reason I get up in the morning. If I wasn’t doing freedom school I would be somewhere in a closet making beats all day (which is what I should be doing anyway!)  But, Shift really do love the kids!  Alot of hip-hop artists have philanthropic organizations that give back to their communities but honestly I second guess their motives.  All along I have said that I wanted to do something to give back to my community when I got money and I have found it!  I want to either fund or run my own FREEDOM SCHOOL site in Cincinnati, Ohio.  Our children need programs like this to enrich our neighborhoods and begin to turn our children away from gang violence, early pregnancy and bullshit like that.  We need to begin to put our priorities into learning and reading.  We need values.  I tell all my kids that I expect all of them to be respectful young adults and upstanding members in society.  Because I vividly remember sitting in Mike Odiosso’s office when he looked my mother straight in the face and told her if I didn’t stop making beats and writing raps (which I do realize that I’m horribly at rapping) that I would end up in prison.  I tell my kids to be respectful members of society because I want them to be the opposite of what they see on TV and what is regarded as cool in our society.  I want them to go farther than me and they’re not even my flesh and blood.  I want to do my part tin making them be successful.  I can’t even tell you how much joy these bad ass kids bring me each day.  To break through their insecurities and allow them to let you in and teach them how to enrich their reading capacities, solid morals, good values and clown around with them makes me feel whole.  Wow, so I wonder how I’m going to react with my own children.  I tell you what, when my daughters bring home boys, them lil niggaz better know what hit em!!!!  I’m gonna be just like this here!!!!  

 

 

SHIFT LOVE THE KIDS!!!! 

Actions

Information

One response

10 07 2008
cana

We love kids and we are loved by kids as well.That’s happiness.

Leave a Reply

